Not A City Girl Any More !

My small space in a big world

FELINE LEUKEMIA SCARE OVER

Back in February  I sadly had to send Molly over rainbow bride because og Feline Leukemia. She is so missed to this day.

image

They are inside cats (girls)  and are spaded so I never  thought about them getting Feline Leukemia. Really I didn ‘t know there was a shot to prevent it . I know about dogs and my knowledge about cats has been limited. A feral cat was courting my girls threw the window and managed to convince Molly to sneak out one day.( I have no idea why this cat liked my girls as they are spaded but he did) . Molly spent the night with this cat and returned in the morning. This is I believe how she got sick.
Her best friend Mary Jane had to wait to get the test the vet said. 

image

So yesterday was the day Mary  Jane was to get her check up and test. She had a negitive test result and her checkup is she is a healthy middle aged kitty. I am so glad that stress is over with. She recived her Feline Leukemia shot and her Rabies shot and all is well for her. We miss Molly so much but in a way Molly ‘ s  life and death educated me on cats and in turned helped me protect Mary Jane.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “FELINE LEUKEMIA SCARE OVER

  1. So glad you got the all clear :) we lost our boy Merlin Mc Tavish to Feline aids..he was desexed and only ever played in our backyard but a feral cat came in and beat him up badly..he developed Feline Aids..we too were unaware of a vaccine even though I was fostering kittens all the time..i can’t believe I was so ill informed and blame myself to this day. We had him for a long time after diagnosis but had tot say goodbye four years ago..all our other cats are safe from it thankfully.

  2. I am sorry for your loss of Merlin Mc Tavish. Molly was a shock to us as she didn ‘t seem sick until that night. Vet let us take her home for the night to say our goodbyes and bring her back in the AM. Mary Jane is adjusting to not having her life long friend around but sometimes she seems lonely.Me I am a dog person but the cats were my son. We decided to let them stay with me when he moved out as he works so much they wouldn ‘t have quality of life.

  3. I’m sorry to hear about Molly but I’m glad that Mary Jane is OK!

Leave a Reply

Eliza Waters

My Own Paradise: Life on Seven and a Half Acres

My Food And Flowers

Two of the Great Joys in Life!

oh melvin (and yo jake)

loving a couple of wacky, hi-larious rescue dogs

dogdaz

dogdazcats2 - A day with a workaholic & her zoo

Couches for Breakfast

ventures into fosterhood and how we learned to love crate training

Wayward Dogs

Finding dogs and purpose along the trail of life

Rumpydog

I'm cute. I'm funny. And I'm committed to animal welfare.

The War In My Brain

About Mental Health, Daily Struggles, My Cat, and Whatever Else Pops in My Head

rachelmankowitz

The Cricket Pages

FixNC

Working to end the killing of shelter pets in NC

dodger'sstory

Every Dog Deserves a Chance

Fluffy Tufts

Life in a menagerie

Our Waldo Bungie

One Couple + Two Dogs = Our Waldo Bungie

Adventures of a Dog Mom

my life. my dogs.

Long Life Cats and Dogs

All about animals, and some other stuff

Hell YesBiscuit!

If you're going through hell, keep going. ~ Winston Churchill

River's Flow

Combat Vets for Combat Vets www.riversflow.net

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers

